Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am so sorry that I have been fallen so far behind on the blog! It has been a very hectic last 6 weeks with 2 trips back to the farms in Tahiti, a few stops at Shop NBC for shows, a quick trip to New York, and finally a few days in San Francisco to see some family and friends. I still owe you all another blog post about the Tahitian pearl farms (believe it or not, it is semi written already and waiting for me to reread and edit it!), but after this trip to San Francisco, I felt that I needed to write this post instead.

During my trip to San Francisco, between visiting my old college campus, seeing friends and family, and eating our way through town, we managed to squeeze in plenty of time taking advantage of the amazing shopping in “the city!” This is a city that has become very famous not only for their fog, bridge, and jail island, but also their world-class shopping. A place where cultures collide and trends are born! From past experience, I know that San Francisco is a major area for pearl connoisseurs. As a child, I remember walking through the heart of Union Square and seeing a very famous store known for recreating glass and shell versions of beautiful high end pearls. However, what I saw during this visit was absolute bliss for me! Every major department store and boutique was featuring organic shapes in pearls! From Freshwater to golden and white South Sea to Tahitian, natural shapes of pearls were everywhere. The freshwater varieties featured pearls that we regularly bring to you such as larger irregular shapes, coins, keishis, and biwa styles. South Sea and Tahitian featured baroque and semi baroque shapes, and even circle pearls.

Personally, I could not be happier to see these pearls taking center stage. For the last several years, we have been bringing you these very pearls that are now being featured. My family and I have always stressed a love and appreciation for all different types of pearls. When you go to the farms which produce the different types of pearls, one thing that stands out is the appreciation and love for the many different qualities of pearls which are harvested! One of the reasons we can never promise to bring back particular styles is, because so much depends on each harvest, which can prove to be very difficult and extremely unpredictable. For the most part, we have very little control over the pearls which will be harvested as the end results are completely out of our control! Throughout our more recent pearl history, pearls are thought to be only valuable when they are perfectly round, white, and free from any “blemishes.” This is a metric that I do not quite agree with completely as it disregards many other factors and natural characteristics which separate the pearl from other gems! To now see the level of appreciation for the natural and organic qualities of pearls is something that I am extremely excited about, and to see these types of pearls being pushed to the forefront is absolutely a welcome change!

For the next several months, there is going to be a lot going on within our shows at Shop NBC. Keep an eye out for our different shows so you can get a closer look at these pearls!